Cognate Cognizance
Cognate Cognizance Podcast
Silva
0:00
-3:52

Silva

A forest of great words!

silva — the forest trees of a region

selva — the Spanish cognate meaning “forest” or even “jungle”

“Silva” and “selva” both come from Latin’s sylva which means “forest” or “wood.” While the word “silva” isn’t used very often in English, the adjective of “sylvan” is quite well known.

I’ve been spending time lately in a sylvan part of the country as I’m in Tennessee, surrounded by the woods of the Appalachian Mountains. In fact, a few days ago, I took a hike along a portion of the Appalachian Trail that passed through a lovely sylvan area before I came out onto a windy, treeless mountaintop. The above photo is one I took along that trail.

One of our U.S. states has a version of “silva” in it. Hopefully it has popped into your head already, but if it hasn’t, the name of the state means “Penn’s woodlands.” Yes, Pennsylvania is a combination of the surname of Penn and the word “sylvania” which indicates a wooded or forested area. If you’ve ever driven across Pennsylvania on Interstate 80, as I have, you’ll know that it’s a VERY heavily forested state.

Transylvania simply means “beyond or across the forested area.” While it’s probably best known as being the homeland of Dracula in Romania, there are places in the United States called Transylvania, too. I’m betting they are near or beyond some forested areas.

I’m quite drawn to sylvan areas even though I also love the sea. Walking through a forest is so peaceful, and one of my favorite poems is by Robert Frost. It’s called “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.” I’ll share it here.

Whose woods these are I think I know.   
His house is in the village though;   
He will not see me stopping here   
To watch his woods fill up with snow.   

My little horse must think it queer   
To stop without a farmhouse near   
Between the woods and frozen lake   
The darkest evening of the year.   

He gives his harness bells a shake   
To ask if there is some mistake.   
The only other sound’s the sweep   
Of easy wind and downy flake.   

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,   
But I have promises to keep,   
And miles to go before I sleep,   
And miles to go before I sleep.

While you can put many interpretive spins on this poem, outwardly it exudes a lovely sylvan image that I enjoy.

If you know anyone named Sylvia or Silvia, that name comes from the Latin word of silva, so that name simply means “of the forest.” My best friend is Silvia, and she lives in Mexico in the Yucatan part which is covered with a tropical jungle, or “selva tropical.”

If you study Spanish, the word “selva” comes up a lot in readings, so being able to associate it with our word “sylvan” while perhaps also learning the new word of “silva” makes it easy to remember.

Now that springtime is upon us, the trees are regaining their leaves, so go out and enjoy whatever sylvan area is nearest to you.

Until next time. Please share “Cognate Cognizance” and encourage others to subscribe. Thanks.

Tammy Marshall

Share

Thanks for reading Cognate Cognizance! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

0 Comments
Cognate Cognizance
Cognate Cognizance Podcast
Knowing cognates can strengthen your vocabulary skills.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tammy Marshall
Recent Episodes